Understanding Different Property Taxes in Pakistan

As a responsible citizen, it is important to understand and comply with the tax laws in Pakistan. One such tax that property owners must pay is the Property Tax. This tax is levied on property owners who earn any income from their land/property, such as rental income from office spaces, houses, farms, etc. In this article, we will provide an overview of Property Tax and its different types, along with some key information that every property owner should know.

What is Property Tax?

Property Tax is a tax that is levied on the owners of immovable properties, such as land, buildings, and other structures. This tax is collected by the local government and is used for the development and maintenance of infrastructure in the area. The amount of tax that a property owner has to pay depends on the value of their property and the income that they earn from it.

Accrual Basis of Taxation

Property income is taxable on an accrual basis. This means that even if the income is not actually received in cash, but is booked in the accounts, it will be treated as income received during the year. For example, if a person rents out a property for a period of twelve months, but the tenant only pays for eight months, the landlord will still have to pay tax on the entire rental income for twelve months.

Types of Property Taxes in Pakistan

In addition to Property Tax, there are three other types of taxes that property owners in Pakistan should be aware of:

  1. Capital Value Tax: This tax is based on the value of the property as determined by the Federal Board of Revenue. The rates of tax are set by District Commissioner Offices across the country and are one percent and two percent respectively for active filers and non-filers.
  2. Withholding Tax: This tax is deducted at source by the withholding agent. When a property is rented out to a withholding agent, they can deduct the payment at source and then deposit it in the government treasury. The tax rate is based on slab rates, with higher income earners paying a higher rate of tax.
  3. Capital Gain Tax: This tax is levied on the gain made on the sale of a capital asset, including property. The tax rates are defined based on the number of years of possession of the property.

Tips for Property Owners

Here are some tips for property owners in Pakistan to help them comply with the tax laws and avoid any legal issues:

  1. Keep accurate records of all property-related transactions, including rental income, property maintenance expenses, and property taxes paid.
  2. Ensure that all taxes are paid on time to avoid penalties and legal issues.
  3. If you are unsure about the tax laws, seek advice from a qualified tax professional.
  4. Take advantage of any tax deductions or exemptions that may be available to you.


Property Tax is an important source of revenue for the government, and it is essential for property owners to pay their taxes on time. By understanding the different types of property taxes and the accrual basis of taxation, property owners in Pakistan can comply with the tax laws and avoid any legal issues. If you have any questions or concerns about Property Tax, seek advice from a qualified tax professional.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *